Advice for New Home Studio Recorders?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sierra Lotsey
Sierra Lotsey
Advice for New Home Studio Recorders?

Hello everyone!

I am a student here at Lessonface and would like to know if any teachers and fellow learners had tips for making a professional-sounding recording at home for the first time. I already have good recording equipment (audio interface, dynamic and condenser microphones) and a few different DAWs to experiment with. 

Would anyone like to weigh in on:

1. The best space to record in and is soundproofing necessary;

2. Any tricks for getting the ideal mic placement;

3. Pointers for good DAW recording settings;

4. And anything you wish you'd known when first starting out?

I would sincerely appreciate any input! Thank you, Sierra

JJ Villafane
Instructor

Hello Sierra,

I can give you some insights based on my experience.

1)The larger the space the better. You want as much separation as you can get between walls, floor, and ceiling. Sounds reflect on them, and those reflections get picked up by mics giving you a coloration that takes away from the pure sound of the instrument. That's where sound treatment comes in. Sound treatment panels absorb the sound and keeps them from reflecting. Sound proofing on the other hand is for keeping sounds leaving or entering the space in which you record. Neither are essential depending on your goals.

2)The mic placement depends entirely on the instrument you're recording, the mic you're using, and the sound you're going for. Can you share more details?

3)Again, this depends a lot on your hardware, OS, and DAW of choice. Do you own a computer and DAW already? If so, which ones?

4)When I started I wish I would've known how much easier and straightforward it is to record with Apple than Windows. I spent some many years struggling to get stuff done with Apple, and when I tried Apple I just couldn't believe how much easier it was.

Sierra Lotsey
Sierra Lotsey